Complete List of Ig Nobel Winners

Every year, the Ig Nobel prizes are awarded to
researchers who do studies that cannot or should
not be repeated. A complete list of winners,
gleaned from this
official page
, is reproduced below. You’ll
need to go to the official page for the
hyperlinks to their publications to work. The
winner of the Literature award should be the only
person allowed to advertise on Usenet, IMHO.


Peter Barss of McGill University, for his
impactful medical report “Injuries Due to Falling
PUBLISHED IN: The Journal of Trauma, vol. 21,
no. 11, 1984, pp. 990-1.


David Schmidt of the University of Massachusetts
for his partial solution to the question of why
shower curtains billow inwards.


Buck Weimer of Pueblo, Colorado for inventing
Under-Ease, airtight underwear with a replaceable
charcoal filter that removes bad-smelling gases
before they escape.


Joel Slemrod, of the University of Michigan
Business School, and Wojciech Kopczuk, of
University of British Columbia, for their
conclusion that people find a way to postpone
their deaths if that that would qualify them for
a lower rate on the inheritance tax.
REFERENCE:”Dying to Save Taxes: Evidence from
Estate Tax Returns on the Death Elasticity,”
Wojciech Kopczuk and Joel Slemrod, National
Bureau of Economic Research Working Paper No.
W8158, March 2001.


John Richards of Boston, England, founder of The
Apostrophe Protection Society, for his efforts to
protect, promote, and defend the differences
between plural and possessive.


Lawrence W. Sherman of Miami University, Ohio,
for his influential research report “An
Ecological Study of Glee in Small Groups of
Preschool Children.”
PUBLISHED IN: Child Development, vol. 46, no. 1,
March 1975, pp. 53-61.


Dr. Jack and Rexella Van Impe of Jack Van Impe
Ministries, Rochester Hills, Michigan, for their
discovery that black holes fulfill all the
technical requirements to be the location of Hell.
REFERENCE: The March 31, 2001 television and
Internet broadcast of the “Jack Van Impe
Presents” program. (at about the 12 minute mark).


Viliumas Malinauskus of Grutas, Lithuania, for
creating the amusement park known as “Stalin


Awarded jointly to John Keogh of Hawthorn,
Victoria, Australia, for patenting the wheel in
the year 2001, and to the Australian Patent
Office for granting him Innovation Patent


Chittaranjan Andrade and B.S. Srihari of the
National Institute of Mental Health and
Neurosciences, Bangalore, India, for their
probing medical discovery that nose picking is a
common activity among adolescents.
REFERENCE: “A Preliminary Survey of
Rhinotillexomania in an Adolescent Sample,”
Journal of Clinical Psychiatry, vol. 62, no. 6,
June 2001, pp. 426-31.

One reply

Comments are closed.