In addition to the 2011 Seiun Award Nominees, the 2011 Hugo Award Nominees were announced today. While io9 has beaten us to the list, where they have speed, we have quality – we have links to the web pages of nominated persons and magazines where possible and links to nominated works (of we weren’t able to link directly to them), plus little bit of analysis. Nominees are below the cut.

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

  • Saladin Ahmed – Ahmed has published several short stories and has a novel due out next year from DAW.
  • Lauren Beukes – South African SF writer. Her novel Zoo City is due out later this year.
  • Larry Correia – Author of the Urban Military Horror series Monster Hunter International
  • Lev Grossman – Tech writer and book critic from Time Magazine, now seeing how things are on the other side with his books Codex, and The Magicians.
  • Dan Welles – Horror writer, with his most recent book being I Am Not a Serial Killer

Best Fan Artist

Best Fan Writer

  • James Bacon – Co-editor on Journey Planet Fanzine
  • Claire Brialey – Co-editor on Journey Planet Fanzine
  • Christopher J. Garcia – also Co-Editor on Journey Planet Fanzine
  • James Nicoll – the main who coined the term “The Brain Eater” (link is to TV Tropes, be warned) for writers who used to be good, but then their political and social views started getting in the way of a good story (Orson Scott Card and the Empire series, Dave Sim and his misogyny in Cerebus, and so on).
  • Stephen H. Silver – This is his 10th nomination (insert Booker T “Ten-Time” joke here) for this category.

Best Fanzine

  • Banana Wings – Edited by Clair Brialey (see above) and Mark Plummer
  • Challenger – Edited by Guy H. Lillian III
  • The Drink Tank – Edited by Christopher J. Garcia and James Bacon (see above)
  • File 770 – Edited by Mike Glyer
  • StarShipSofa – Edited by Tony C. Smith. This inclusion of this to the nominee list is particularly notable as it’s the only Podcast eZine on the list.

Best SemiProzine

  • Clarkesworld – Edited by Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan, Sean Wallace, podcast directed by Kate Baker. This won last year.
  • Interzone – Edited by Andy Cox
  • Lightspeed – Edited by John Joseph Adams
  • Locus – Edited by Lisa Groen Trombi, Kirsten Gong-Wong
  • Weird Tales – Edited by Ann VanderMeer and Stephen H. Segal

Best Professional Artist

Best Editor, Long Form

  • Lou Anders – Editor of Pyr books
  • Ginjer Buchanan – Editor at Ace books
  • Moshe Feder – Contributing Editor at Tor Books
  • Liz Gorinsky – Contributing Editor at Tor Books
  • Nick Mamatas – Editor of Viz Media’s Hakia Soru line.
  • Beth Meacham – Editor at Tor Books
  • Juliet Ulman – Editor at Pugilist Press

Best Editor, Short Form

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

  • Doctor Who – “A Christmas Carol” written by Stephen Moffat, directed by Toby Hayes.
  • Doctor Who – “The Pandorica Opens” written by Stephen Moffat, directed by Toby Hayes.
  • Doctor Who – “Vincent and the Doctor” written by Richard Curtis, directed by Jonny Campbell
  • Fuck Me, Ray Bradbury” written by Rachel Bloom, directed by Paul Briganti
  • The Lost Thing” written by Shawn Tan, Directed by Shawn Tan and Andrew Ruhemann. Also the academy award winner for best animated short.

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Best Graphic Story

  • Fables: Witches by Bill Willingham; illustrated by Mark Buckingham
  • Girl Genius: Volume 10 – Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse by Phil and Kaja Foglio, art by Phil Foglio and colors by Cheyanne Wright. This is the Foglio’s 3rd nomination for Girl Genius.
  • Grandville Mon Amor by Bryan Talbot
  • Schlock Mercenary: Massively Parallel by Howard Tayler, colors by Howard Tayler and Travis Walton
  • The Unwritten Vol. 2: Inside Man by Mike Carey, illustrated by Peter Gros

Best Related Work

Best Short Story

  • Amaryllis” by Carrie Vaughn
  • “For Want of a Nail” by Mary Robinette Kowal (from Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine, September 2010)
  • Ponies” by Kij Johnson
  • The Things” by Peter Watts

Best Novelette

  • “Eight Miles” by Sean McMullen ( from Analog Science Fiction and Fact, September 2010)
  • “The Emperor of Mars” by Allen M. Steele (Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine, June 2010)
  • “The Jaguar House, in Shadow” by Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine, July 2010)
  • “Plus or Minus” by James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine, December 2010)
  • “That Leviathan, Whom Thou Hast Made” by Eric James Stone (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, September 2010)

Best Novella

Best Novel

Update (4/25/2011): Changed the link for Brad Foster so it went to his recent fan work, and added a link to Maureen Starkey’s DeviantArt page.