Enterprise: Season Two In Review

Here it is, my annual look back at the previous season of Enterprise.

Enterprise:
Year Two

In the tradition of last year’s summary, here’s an overview of Enterprise, season two.

What to Change in Season 3

Hire better writers and directors.
Berman and Braga don’t write all the episodes, but they are responsible for most of the stinkers. Give it up guys. We demand better stories, moving dialogue, and real suspense.
Respect your elders!
TOS set up a back story that the current series fails to even recognize. This is historical fiction to we fans. Don’t be stupid and try to rewrite our canon.
Fire Rick Berman and Brannon Braga.
They are no-talent hacks that have inherited a treasure. Ever watched an interview with either of these two? There are a couple on startrek.com from the Nemesis premier. They are so bored and tired of the license that they have no motivation to make quality entertainment.

And just to prove it isn’t all bad

What to Keep from Season 2

Well, I liked the finale
It barely counts as being part of the season, but the new direction may be the shot in the arm the series needs.
The Andorian/Vulcan Conflict
The writers seem to have forgotten this even exists. It was good stuff and anything that keeps Jeffery Combs on screen is alright with me.
Klingons!
These guys are part of what made Star Trek in the beginning. Historical canon shows at least one good war with these guys. Don’t deny the fans that kind of fun.

We wrap up a lackluster season with a cool finale. Here’s to hoping for a better season three.

Missed a review, or want to reread one? Check out the archive list below.

Title Number Airdate Score
Shockwave,
Pt 2
27 09/18/2002 33
Carbon Creek 28 09/25/2002 19
Minefield 29 10/02/2002 29
Dead Stop 30 10/09/2002 27
A Night in Sickbay 31 10/16/2002 29
Marauders 32 10/30/2002 20
The Seventh 33 11/06/2002 27
The Communicator 34 11/13/2002 24
Singularity 35 11/20/2002 24
Vanishing Point 36 11/27/2002 24
Precious Cargo 37 12/11/2002 23
The Catwalk 38 12/18/2002 26
Dawn 39 01/08/2003 19
Stigma 40 02/05/2003 30
Cease Fire 41 02/12/2003 28
Future Tense 42 02/19/2003 29
Canamar 43 02/26/2003 27
The Crossing 44 04/02/2003 18
Judgement 45 04/09/2003 30
Horizon 46 04/16/2003 24
The Breach 47 04/23/2003 25
Cogenitor 48 04/30/2003 30
Regeneration 49 05/07/2003 21
First Flight 50 05/14/2003 22
Bounty 51 05/14/2003 22
The Expanse 52 05/21/2003 31

7 replies on “Enterprise: Season Two In Review”

  1. max_quordlepleen says:

    A third were good.
    Which is enough to keep me watching next year..

    • GusherJizmac says:

      Re: A third were good.

      Which is enough to keep me watching next year..

      I hated waiting for Sunday to watch Smallville (due to 24), and now that
      it’s moving to Wed., I really don’t know if I’m gonna keep watching
      Enterprise…. The finale had me kindof intrigued, but it seems to be
      sending them into completely unknown and unheard of territory, and we
      will not be likely to meet any familiar faces.

    • GrimSean says:

      Re: A third were good.

      Which is enough to keep me watching next year..

      It was barely enough to keep me watching this year. I would watch an episode, be so disappointed I’d say “All right, one more chance Enterprise!” the next one would be mediocre (so, just good enough to give it one more chance over and over), and the one after that all right. The overall quality is good enough to keep sucking me in, but it’s just not enough to keep me entertained. Even if CITY sets it up that Smallville leads into Enterprise next year, I’m not sure if I’ll stick around for the second hour unless it’s really stellar stuff.

      • TechnoGirl says:

        Re: A third were good.

        I’m not sure if I’ll stick around for the second hour unless it’s really stellar stuff.

        One word: Voyager

    • scharkalvin says:

      Re: A third were good.

      Which is enough to keep me watching next year..

      Interresting that the first and last episodes got the highest reviews.

  2. rickyjames says:

    I’ll say it…
    …even tho it’s beating a dead horse. For this crap UPN turned down Firefly?

  3. jbrecken says:

    What to change
    Maybe with the new focus on the alien menace, they could come up with some sort of mission statement for why the ship’s out there, and have Bakula deliver it in voiceover at the beginning of the opening credit sequence. Something like –

    “Space: the mysterious unknown. These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise, its mission: to seek out and stop those that threaten our planet, and to try to find allies among the alien civilizations. We’re on our own out here, since we’re going further than any earthman’s gone before.”

Comments are closed.